Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Cigar Discussion > All Cigar Discussion

Old 07-27-2011, 03:21 AM   #1
DB17210

Default Seasoning my new humidor

Hello all I am a new member from Miami, and am looking forward to spending more time on this forum.
My first question for all of you is regarding getting my new humidor ready for use. I opted for a Cuban Crafters model. Since I am in Miami I was able to go to the store, see it in person, and check the seal. Although I am new to this all, I had a friend with me who has a humidor and he agreed it looked good.

http://www.cubancrafters.com/products.php/item_id/2891

After getting it home I did the following:
1. Wipe it down with a DRY paper towel to get any dust out
2. Salt Test Calibrate the hygrometer (analog) to 75%
3. Placed a shot glass filled with distilled water, and 1 Boveda seasoning pack in the humidor.
4. Bought a Madelaine Digital Hygrometer, calibrated it, and put it in the humidor for comparison
5. Closed it up w/the shelf and dividers in there too. Left it for 3 days
6. By the 4th day the humidity level stabilized and remained at 77%
7. Removed Boveda Pack and Shot Glass of distilled water, and replaced it with the charged humidifier unit that came withe with my humidor (filled with distilled water, poured excess out, shook it, let it sit face down on paper towel to make sure all excess water really out, and then put about 6 drops of 50/50 PG)
8. I am now on day 5, and the RH level is still holding steady at 77%. I figured it would drop closer to 70%. There are still no cigars in it, as I wanted to get a consistant RH level.