Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Old 05-04-2009, 12:58 PM   #1
gettysburgfreak
Patriot

Trading: (2)
RA
gettysburgfreak will become famous soon enoughgettysburgfreak will become famous soon enough
Default Weird Frustration

Ok so I graduated college in May of 2008 and haven't been able to find a job with my degree (history, political science). I applied for lots of stuff and received either no word or a thanks but no thanks we don't have anything available. It seems like all of a sudden I have been getting a wave of possible jobs and I really don't know how to handle it. In the past two weeks I have had the following:

Passed the Border Patrol test and now am starting the process of steps leading toward employment.

Back in October I took a 2 hour online written and multi choice test for the U.S. State Department Foreign Service Brach Special Agent Position. Found out that I passed it and have to go to Boston on June 1st for some tests and interviews.

Got a letter in the mail today saying I was being considered for a park ranger position at Independence Hall in Philadelphia.

I have no idea how to go about making a choice. The first two can take months to go through the process and its not even guaranteed that I would get either position. The third would be a quicker process but I would rather have one of the first two positions. Plus I have a girl friend now and it would suck having to leave her behind. Sorry for the long and pointless post, I just needed to rant.

Anyone have experience with multiple jobs? How did you go about making a choice?
Old 05-04-2009, 01:07 PM   #2
BMTA

Default Re: Weird Frustration

Weigh position advancements against how far up the ladder you want to go, then consider if you'll be happy living there and will the pay afford you a good standard of living.
Old 05-04-2009, 04:03 PM   #3
68TriShield
Got Torque?

First Name: Dave
Trading: (40)
HUpmann